Business License/ Permit Application Share Print The business tax/permit application form is used for most business activities. Except daily, weekly and monthly license fees, all license fees are assessed annually and subject to renewal following the anniversary month of the expiration of the business license. Certain types of businesses, in addition to the filing of and payment for the annual business license tax, must also meet other regulations by the City. In addition to the business tax, an initial application fee in the amount of $100.00 is applied to all commercial businesses located within the City boundaries. Alternatively, Home-based businesses and businesses located outside the city boundaries have a $25.00 application fee. The annual renewal processing fee is $15.00. Apportioned tax rates are also available for businesses that are located outside the city but are conducting a small percentage of their business in the within the City of Carson. NOTE: In 1996, Carson voters passed and approved Measure K which allowed he City of Carson to adjust its schedule of business license fees annually, based on the changes in the Consumer Price Index (CPI). The tax rate, therefore, varies from year to year. To obtain the current year tax rate schedule, please select the appropriate document below. In addition to the payment of a license fee, your business activity may also be subject to additional permit fees. Please refer to the schedule of permit fees, and complete the additionally required forms. Your business license is subject to penalty assessment if not filed by the required due date. Please refer to the links below for the appropriate forms or further information. Business License/Permit Application ( PDF ) Regulatory Permit Fee Schedule Apportioned License Fees Business License Penalty (Section 6326) Business Permit Penalty (Section 6395) 2017 Tax Rate Schedule ( PDF ) On September 19, 2012, Governor Brown signed into law SB 1186 which adds a state fee of $1.00 on any application for a local business license or similar instrument or permit, or renewal thereof. The purpose of this fee is to increase disability access and compliance with construction-related accessibility requirements and to develop educational resources for businesses in order to facilitate compliance with federal and state disability laws, as specified. Under federal and state law, compliance with disability access laws is a serious and significant responsibility that applies to all California building owners and tenants with buildings open to the public. You may obtain information about your legal obligations and how to comply with disability access laws at the following agencies: The Division of the State Architect at www.dgs.ca.gov/dga/Home.aspx The Department of Rehabilitation at www.rehab.cahwnet.gov The California Commission on Disability Access at www.ccda.ca.gov For questions regarding your city licensing requirements, please contact the Revenue Division staff at (310) 952-1748.